California Department of Fish and Wildlife

Wildlife Programs Staff Directory

Name Classification E-mail Address
Chief Eric Loft, Ph.D. Branch Chief Eric.Loft@wildlife.ca.gov
Kelly Barnes AGPA Kelly.Barnes@wildlife.ca.gov

Nongame Wildlife Program

The Nongame Program manages native mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians on a statewide level. Nongame Program conservation actions focus on Threatened and Endangered species and Species of Special Concern, and include: planning and implementing species conservation and recovery, preparing and reviewing listing/delisting petitions and status reviews, developing conservation strategies, overseeing research contracts, and issuing scientific collecting permits and research MOUs, and developing regulations.

In general, questions or comments concerning the enforcement of state fish and wildlife regulations, such as the possession or sale of restricted species, should be referred to the appropriate Enforcement District or reported to CalTIP.

Questions or comments concerning local wildlife issues, such as nuisance wildlife or localized habitat destruction, should be referred to the appropriate Region’s Wildlife Management or Habitat Conservation Program.

Name Classification E-mail Address
Kent Smith Environmental Program Manager Kent.Smith@wildlife.ca.gov
Dan Applebee Senior Environmental Scientist,
Threatened and Endangered Species Recovery Coordinator
Daniel.Applebee@wildlife.ca.gov
Carie Battistone Senior Environmental Scientist,
Statewide Coordinator for Raptor Conservation
Carie.Battistone@wildlife.ca.gov
Betsy Bolster Senior Environmental Scientist, Retired Annuitant
Amphibian and Reptile Species of Special Concern
Betsy.Bolster@wildlife.ca.gov
Esther Burkett Senior Environmental Scientist,
Research MOUs & Scientific Collecting Permits &
Threatened and Endangered Species (birds & mammals)
Esther.Burkett@wildlife.ca.gov
Neil Clipperton Senior Environmental Scientist,
Statewide Coordinator for Bird Conservation &
Bird Species of Special Concern
Neil.Clipperton@wildlife.ca.gov
Rhianna Lee Senior Environmental Scientist,
Threatened and Endangered Species Recovery Coordinator
Rhianna.Lee@wildlife.ca.gov
Scott Osborn, Ph.D. Senior Environmental Scientist,
Statewide Coordinator for Small Mammal Conservation
Scott.Osborn@wildlife.ca.gov
Laura Patterson Senior Environmental Scientist,
Statewide Coordinator for Amphibian & Reptile Conservation
Laura.Patterson@wildlife.ca.gov
Chris Stermer Senior Environmental Scientist,
Resource Assessment
Chris.Stermer@wildlife.ca.gov
Kevin Cahill Scientific Aid, Program Support Kevin.Cahill@wildlife.ca.gov
Justin Garcia Scientific Aid, Program Support Justin.Garcia@wildlife.ca.gov
Madeleine Wieland Scientific Aid, Program Support Madeleine.Wieland@wildlife.ca.gov

Please refer to this website for general wildlife questions, or contact the appropriate regional office.


Game Species Conservation Programs

Name Classification E-mail Address
Craig Stowers Environmental Program Manager Craig.Stowers@wildlife.ca.gov
Deer Program
Vacant Senior Environmental Scientist (Supervisor)  
Russell Mohr Environmental Scientist Russ.Mohr@wildlife.ca.gov
Mary Sommer Environmental Scientist Mary.Sommer@wildlife.ca.gov
David Casady Environmental Scientist David.Casady@wildlife.ca.gov
Victoria Barr Environmental Scientist,
SHARE & PLM Programs
Victoria.Barr@wildlife.ca.gov
Black Bear, Wild Pig & Mountain Lion
Vacant Environmental Scientist  
Elk & Pronghorn Antelope
Joe Hobbs Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist) Joe.Hobbs@wildlife.ca.gov
Bighorn Sheep
Regina Abella Environmental Scientist Regina.Abella@wildlife.ca.gov
Upland/Small Game Program
Scott Gardner Senior Environmental Scientist (Supervisor) Scott.Gardner@wildlife.ca.gov
Karen Fothergill Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist) Karen.Fothergill@wildlife.ca.gov
Matt Meshriy Environmental Scientist Matt.Meshriy@wildlife.ca.gov
Levi Souza Environmental Scientist Levi.Souza@wildlife.ca.gov
Linda Sandoval Associate Analyst Linda.Sandoval@wildlife.ca.gov
Waterfowl Program
Melanie Weaver Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist) Melanie.Weaver@wildlife.ca.gov
Dan Skalos Environmental Scientist Dan.Skalos@wildlife.ca.gov
GIS
Kristi Cripe Research Program Specialist, GIS
GIS Data and Maps
Kristi.Cripe@wildlife.ca.gov

Wildlife Investigations Laboratory (WIL)

Name Classification E-mail Address
Steve Torres WIL Supervisor - Environmental Program Manager Steve.Torres@wildlife.ca.gov
Dr. Ben J. Gonzales Senior Wildlife Veterinarian Ben.Gonzales@wildlife.ca.gov
Marc Kenyon Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist) Marc.Kenyon@wildlife.ca.gov
Dr. Deana Clifford Associate Wildlife Veterinarian Deana.Clifford@wildlife.ca.gov
Lora Konde Environmental Scientist Lora.Konde@wildlife.ca.gov
Karen Jones Retired Annuitant Karen.Jones@wildlife.ca.gov
Stella McMillin Senior Environmental Scientist, Toxicology Stella.McMillin@wildlife.ca.gov
Tina Moran Staff Services Analyst Tina.Moran@wildlife.ca.gov
Krysta Rogers Environmental Scientist, Avian Krysta.Rogers@wildlife.ca.gov
Nicole Carion Senior Environmental Scientist,
Wildlife Rehabilitation/Exotic Species Permits
Nicole.Carion@wildlife.ca.gov

Lands Program

Name Classification E-mail Address
Kari Lewis Lands Program Manager Kari.Lewis@wildlife.ca.gov
Land Management and Resource Assessment Programs
Teresa Le Blanc Senior Environmental Scientist Teresa.LeBlanc@wildlife.ca.gov
Sharon Taylor Environmental Scientist,
Lands Inventory
Sharon.Taylor@wildlife.ca.gov
Karen Converse Environmental Scientist,
Land Management Planning
Karen.Converse@wildlife.ca.gov
Shawn Fresz Environmental Scientist,
Land Management Planning
Shawn.Fresz@wildlife.ca.gov
Wildlife Areas and Wildlife Restoration Programs
Brad Burkholder Senior Environmental Scientist Brad.Burkholder@wildlife.ca.gov
Comprehensive Wetland Habitat Program
Heidi West Senior Environmental Scientist Heidi.West@wildlife.ca.gov
John Thomson Environmental Scientist John.Thomson@wildlife.ca.gov
Integrated Pest Management
Joel Trumbo Senior Environmental Scientist Joel.Trumbo@wildlife.ca.gov
Daydre Roser Scientifc Aide Daydre.Roser@wildlife.ca.gov
Minh Le Scientifc Aide Minh.Le@wildlife.ca.gov
Ecological Reserves and Land Acquisition Programs
Julie Horenstein Senior Environmental Scientist Julie.Horenstein@wildlife.ca.gov
Web Applications
Akan Etiebet Contract Analyst
Branch Web Applications and Design
Akaninyene.Etiebet@wildlife.ca.gov
Geographic Information Systems
Lisa Ohara Research Analyst II, GIS
GIS Data and Maps
Lisa.Ohara@wildlife.ca.gov